Welcome to Miami Hawk Talk!

This website is a fan-operated and fan-oriented site primarily about athletics at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio.

This website is not affiliated with Miami University, the Mid-American Conference (MAC), the National Collegiate Hockey Conference (NCHC) the NCAA, or any other collegiate or professional organization.

Best Ever Year in Miami Men’s Sports

richiebrichieb Havighurstite
Here is my question. This year in Miami men’s sports was about the same as the last 10 or 15. I graduated in 1989, and I wonder, was there ever a year when football, baseball, basketball and hockey all had winning seasons? I know hockey was slow to get onboard. So,was there ever a year when 3 of the 4 ruled over the MAC, cause after the last many years I am starting to think it will never happen again?

Comments

• D_DayD_Day Senior Barfly
    I dug out my old spreadsheet and there are multiple years with all 3 men's revenue sports having winning seasons.

The best year was Big Ben's last season school year 2003 - 2004

Football 13 - 1

Basketball 18 - 11

Hockey 23 - 14 - 4
    Re6H5wkagc
  • dave67dave67 Wealthy Alum
    Spreadsheet? YGTBSM ;D
    agc
  • Bash_RiprockBash_Riprock Wealthy Alum
    dave67 said:

Spreadsheet? YGTBSM ;D

D_Day was the moll of his time.
    Re6H5wkTruckCrewagc
  • profholt82profholt82 Wealthy Alum
    98 Football 10-1
    98-99 Basketball Sweet 16
    Don't know what hockey did that year.
    TruckCrew
    I should add that the 98 football squad beat UC 41-0 and got a scalp at ranked North Carolina. Good times.
  • mollauttmollautt Wealthy Alum

98 Football 10-1

=>And it doesn't matter.

AORedHawk33JCook32
  • TruckCrewTruckCrew Wealthy Alum

98 Football 10-1

That was one of the first years to come to my mind. I was an intern in the athletic department. It was amazing.
  • Professor_FateProfessor_Fate Wealthy Alum

98 Football 10-1

I think hockey was 10-20 and something. They were bad.
  • D_DayD_Day Senior Barfly